Revised on January 16, 2019


RoHS Directive

The RoHS, also known as Directive 2002/95/EC, restricts the use of six hazardous materials found in electrical and electronic products. All applicable products in the EU market since July 1, 2006 must pass RoHS compliance.

Directive 2011/65/EU was published in 2011 by the EU, which is known as RoHS 2. RoHS 2 includes a CE-marking directive, with RoHS compliance now being required for CE marking of products.

Commission Delegated Directive (EU) 2015/863 was published in 2015, which is known as RoHS 3. RoHS 3 adds four additional restricted substances (phthalates) to the list of six.

RoHS specifies maximum levels for the following 10 restricted substances. The first six applied to the original RoHS while the last four were added under RoHS 3.

  • Lead (Pb)
  • Mercury (Hg)
  • Cadmium (Cd)
  • Hexavalent Chromium
  • Polybrominated Biphenyls (PBB)
  • Polybrominated Diphenyl Ethers (PBDE)
  • Bis(2-Ethylhexyl) phthalate (DEHP)
  • Benzyl butyl phthalate (BBP)
  • Dibutyl phthalate (DBP)
  • Diisobutyl phthalate (DIBP)

Compliance of M-System Products

All M-System products which are compliant to RoHS 2 have the RoHS 2 compliance marking on their package. As from January 2019, the RoHS 3 compliant products are identified with the new RoHS 3 marking.

RoHS 2 / 6 substances   RoHS 3 / 10 substances
RoHS 2
6 substances
→ RoHS 3
10 substances
Compliance of a specific product model is confirmed on M-System web site, by using Specification Sheet Search. For special specification products, please consult with M-System.

Copyright (C) 2006-2019 M-System Co., Ltd. All rights reserved.